Eight changes as Scots welcome Doncaster Knights to the Athletic Ground

04th March 2016

London Scottish have named their side to face Doncaster Knights tomorrow at the Athletic Ground as the Scots look to return to winning ways in the Greene King IPA Championship.

The Scots had their five match winning run in all competitions brought to an end last weekend as they were defeated 17-3 by Nottingham at Lady Bay.

With the short turn-around from last Sunday’s match, the starting line-up features eight changes, which includes Sam Smith’s full debut, as the Scots return to the Athletic Ground, where they are unbeaten in their last three home matches.

Jack Cosgrove, Adam Kwasnicki and Matt Shields start in the front-row, with Rory Bartle and Josh Thomas Brown behind in the second-row. 

Evan Olmstead comes in to the back-row, and will start alongside Tinus du Plessis and captain Mark Bright.

Matt Heeks starts at scrum-half, and his half-back partner will be Dan Newton at fly-half, who makes his 60th appearance for the club. Alex Grove and Robbie Fergusson continue their centre partnership in the midfield. 

One change in the back-three sees Sam Smith make his first start for the club on the left wing, with Jason Harries on the right and Peter Lydon once again at full-back.

Tyrone Moran, James Hallam and Max Maidment will offer another front-row option from the bench, with Neale Patrick covering the second-row.

There are three backs on the bench, George Horne will look to make an impact at scrum-half, with Oli Grove and Howard Packman also covering the back-line when required.

London Scottish team to play Doncaster Knights on Saturday 5th March at 15:00 in the Greene King IPA Championship at the Athletic Ground.

15 Peter Lydon 14 Sam Smith 13 Robbie Fergusson 12 Alex Grove 11 Jason Harries 10 Dan Newton 9 Matt Heeks 1 Jack Cosgrove 2 Adam Kwasnicki 3 Matt Shields 4 Rory Bartle 5 Josh Thomas Brown 6 Evan Olmstead 7 Tinus du Plessis 8 Mark Bright (c)

16 Tyrone Moran 17 James Hallam 18 Max Maidment 19 Neale Patrick 20 George Horne 21 Oli Grove 22 Howard Packman


SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.