Eleven changes for British and Irish Cup opener

12th November 2015

London Scottish have made 11 changes to the starting line-up for the match against Munster at the Athletic Ground on Friday night.

Just four players, Matt Shields, Chevvy Pennycook, Freddie Clarke and Oli Grove retain their places after the defeat to Jersey last weekend, with the team being heavily changed for the British and Irish Cup opener.
James Gibbons and David Cherry join Shields in the front-row, with Will Carrick Smith and Rory Bartle occupying the second-row places.
Harlequins flanker James Chisholm starts for the first time this season, with Chevvy Pennycook and Freddie Clarke in the back-row.
Scrum-half Ben Calder makes his first start of the 15/16 campaign alongside Oli Grove at fly-half, with a new-look centre pairing. Lee Millar will start at inside centre, with Robbie Fergusson making his debut for the club at outside centre. Fergusson has joined the Scots from Glasgow Warriors on a loan deal.
Miles Mantella makes his return from injury on the left wing, with Andrew Turner on the right wing. Aaron Morris starts at full-back, the Saracens academy man will also make his debut for Scottish. 
On the bench, Irish hooker Tyrone Moran, Jack Cosgrove and Jimmy Litchfield offer front-row back-up.
Andrew Davidson will hope to make his first appearance for the club in the second row, and Alex Brown provides another back-row option.
Scotland Under 20 international George Horne could also make his debut from the bench, and Peter Lydon will also offer back-line cover.
Head Coach Peter Richards said: “We are looking forward to welcoming Munster, the British and Irish Cup gives us an opportunity to put the recent form in the Championship behind us with a positive start in the cup.”
“The players will relish playing against this kind of opposition, this pool will be highly competitive with ourselves, Munster A, Ospreys Premiership Select and Yorkshire Carnegie so we are looking to get off to a good start.”
London Scottish team to play Munster ‘A’ at the Athletic Ground on Friday, 13th November at 19:45.

15 Aaron Morris 14 Andrew Turner 13 Robbie Fergusson 12 Lee Millar 11 Miles Mantella 10 Oli Grove 9 Ben Calder 1 James Gibbons 2 David Cherry 3 Matt Shields 4 Will Carrick Smith 5 Rory Bartle 6 James Chisholm 7 Chevvy Pennycook 8 Freddie Clarke (c)
16 Tyrone Moran 17 Jack Cosgrove 18 Jimmy Litchfield 19 Andrew Davidson 20 Alex Brown 21 George Horne 22 Peter Lydon


SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.