Grove brothers start together for Nottingham clash

26th February 2016

London Scottish have named their side to face Nottingham on Sunday at Lady Bay, as seventh plays sixth in the Greene King IPA Championship.

The Scots are on a five match winning run in all competitions and could move above Nottingham on Sunday with a win that would take them in to the top six. 

Oli and Alex Grove start together for the first time in professional rugby, the brothers played against each other last season but will feature alongside each other at Lady Bay.

The starting line-up features nine changes from the team that beat Cornish Pirates in their last match a fortnight ago, the majority are in the forwards with the relatively settled back-line looking to fire once again. 

James Hallam, Tyrone Moran and Matt Shields start in the front-row, with Will Carrick Smith and Josh Thomas Brown behind in the second-row. 

Rory Bartle moves to the back-row, and will start alongside Tinus du Plessis and captain Freddie Clarke.

The back-line sees a new half-back pairing of George Horne and Oli Grove, with Robbie Fergusson and Alex Grove in the centre once again. 

It is an unchanged back-three that will start at Lady Bay, with Jason Harries and Howard Packman on the wings and January’s Player of the Month Peter Lydon at full-back.

Adam Kwasnicki, Jack Cosgrove and Max Maidment will offer another front-row option from the bench, with Chris Walker and Mark Bright covering the back-row. 

Matt Heeks is also on the bench, alongside Worcester Warriors winger Sam Smith, who joined on loan for the rest of the season last week and will be looking to make his first appearance for the Scots.

London Scottish team to play Nottingham on Sunday 28th February at 15:00 in the Greene King IPA Championship at Lady Bay.

15 Peter Lydon 14 Howard Packman 13 Robbie Fergusson 12 Alex Grove 11 Jason Harries 10 Oli Grove 9 George Horne 1 James Hallam 2 Tyrone Moran 3 Matt Shields 4 Will Carrick Smith 5 Josh Thomas Brown 6 Rory Bartle 7 Tinus du Plessis 8 Freddie Clarke (c)

16 Adam Kwasnicki 17 Jack Cosgrove 18 Max Maidment 19 Chris Walker 20 Mark Bright 21 Matt Heeks 22 Sam Smith



SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.