League Leaders Ready For ‘Huge Challenge’ At Bristol

25th September 2014

Greene King IPA Championship leaders London Scottish hand first competitive starts to four players on Friday night as they put their unbeaten record on the line at Ashton Gate against Bristol Rugby – the only other Championship side with a 100 per cent record.

Former Scotland Under-20s hooker David Cherry lines-up in the front row with US Eagles lock Tai Tuisamoa packing down behind him.
Recent recruits Gregor Gillanders and Chris Walker are also named in the starting line-up as is scrum-half Matt Heeks who makes his first competitive appearance since joining Scottish for a third spell over the summer.
Elsewhere, prop Mark Lilley gets the chance to impress against his parent club alongside former Bristol players Chevvy Pennycook, Matt Williams and Errie Claassens, the full-back being named on the replacements bench.
London Scottish are currently two points ahead of second placed Bristol in the table having claimed more bonus points.
However Head Coach James Buckland admits Friday night represents a 'huge challenge' for his side as the Scots look to beat Bristol for the first time since earning promotion back into the Championship three seasons ago.
“I'm sure presently seeing us above them in the league, Bristol will target this as a big game,” Buckland warned.
“We have never won against Bristol in my time here but last year away from home we got some things right.
“We have got to build on that as well as the first three weeks of this season.”
He continued: “There are a number of new faces in the squad and it will be a huge challenge.
“We'll need to be on top of our game in a lot of areas and I expect a big crowd at Ashton Gate.
“It's going to be a hugely physical affair and everything goes through half back Matthew Morgan who is very dangerous.
“In Dwayne Peel, they also have an incredibly experienced and influential scrum-half. It's going to be a tough test.”
London Scottish squad to play Bristol Rugby at Ashton Gate on Friday, September 26, 7.45pm kick-off.
15, Peter Lydon; 14, Matt Williams; 13, Mike Doneghan; 12, PJ Gidlow (c); 11, Miles Mantella; 10, Lee Millar; 9, Matt Heeks; 1, Mark Lilley; 2, David Cherry; 3, Max Maidment; 4, Tai Tuisamoa; 5, Gregor Gillanders; 6, Neil Best; 7, Chris Walker; 8, Chevvy Pennycook.
Replacements: 16, James Hallam; 17, Adam Kwasnicki; 18, Stewart Maguire; 19, Adam Preocanin; 20, Mark Bright; 21, Jamie Stevenson; 22, Errie Claassens. 

SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.