Team News: Robbie Fergusson to skipper Scots in Ulster clash at the Athletic Ground

21st October 2016

London Scottish have made nine changes to their starting line-up for the British and Irish Cup match against Ulster ‘A’ tomorrow at the Athletic Ground.

Both sides won their opening matches in round one of the competition, so a win for either team could see them take up a strong position in the pool.

Grant Shiells and Dan Koroi return to the front-row, with Cameron Fenton keeping his place at hooker after scoring twice on his first start for the club last weekend.

In the second-row Dom McGeekie and Neale Patrick start, whilst in the back-row Alex Humfrey makes his first start after joining on loan from Bath, and he is accompanied by Matt Marley and Ally Miller.

Hugh Fraser and Harry Sheppard will form a new half-back partnership at 9 and 10. Alec Coombes is joined by Robbie Fergusson in the centre who will captain the side, with a back-three of Cameron Ives, Craig Holland and Tom Galbraith.

David Cherry could make his 50th appearance for the Scots if he comes off the bench, with Jonny Harris and Phil Cringle also providing front-row back-up. Joe Atkinson and Devlin Hope will cover the rest of the pack. 

Ed Hoadley offers a scrum-half alternative, with versatile back Ben Rath completing the match-day squad to face the Irish side at the Athletic Ground.

Forwards Coach John Dalziel is expecting a tough challenge against Ulster. 

“ We have a real urgency within the squad to improve, and we will need to be at our best against a strong Ulster side to get a result.”

REMINDER: Kick off is at 14:30 for tomorrow’s match, 30 minutes earlier than originally scheduled.

London Scottish team to face Ulster ‘A’ at the Athletic Ground in the British and Irish Cup tomorrow afternoon: 
15 Tom Galbraith 14 Craig Holland 13 Robbie Fergusson (c) 12 Alec Coombes 11 Cameron Ives 10 Harry Sheppard 9 Hugh Fraser 1 Grant Shiells 2 Cameron Fenton 3 Dan Koroi 4 Dom McGeekie 5 Neale Patrick 6 Alex Humfrey 7 Matt Marley 8 Ally Miller

16 David Cherry 17 Jonny Harris 18 Phil Cringle 19 Joe Atkinson 20 Devlin Hope 21 Jamie Stevenson 22 Ben Rath

Watch a pre-match interview with Harry Sheppard below: 



SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.