Alex Grove to make debut against Yorkshire Carnegie

29th January 2016

London Scottish have named their side to face Yorkshire Carnegie at the Athletic Ground tomorrow afternoon.

The Scots head in to the match after two consecutive wins over Ospreys Premiership Select and Munster ‘A’ in the British and Irish Cup, and will be looking to transfer their cup form back in to the Greene King IPA Championship. 

Jack Cosgrove, David Cherry and Max Maidment start in the front-row, with Will Carrick Smith and Josh Thomas Brown in the second-row. 

Freddie Clarke returns to the starting line-up at blind-side flanker, beside Tinus du Plessis at open-side after making his debut last weekend, and Mark Bright captains the side at number eight. 

Matt Heeks and Dan Newton occupy the half-back positions, whilst Alex Grove will make his first start for the Scots at inside centre alongside Robbie Fergusson at 13. 

Peter Lydon starts at full-back, with Jason Harries on the left wing and England Under 20 international Howard Packman on the right wing. 

Tyrone Moran, James Hallam and Matt Shields offer a front-row alternative on the bench. Rory Bartle and Kieran Treadwell are also among the replacements, whilst George Horne and Andrew Turner will be looking to make an impact to the back-line when called upon.    

Head Coach Peter Richards said: “We’ve got three big league games coming up and with nine games left it’s still all to play for, starting tomorrow against Yorkshire Carnegie.”

He added: “The league is very competitive and we know that one or two wins can shift us up the table. It will be a very tough game but we experienced success against them earlier in the season and we’ll need another big performance to replicate that.”

London Scottish team to play Yorkshire Carnegie on Saturday, 30th January in the Greene King IPA Championship at the Athletic Ground.

15 Peter Lydon 14 Howard Packman 13 Robbie Fergusson 12 Alex Grove 11 Jason Harries 10 Dan Newton 9 Matt Heeks 1 Jack Cosgrove 2 David Cherry 3 Max Maidment 4 Will Carrick Smith  5 Josh Thomas Brown 6 Freddie Clarke 7 Tinus du Plessis 8 Mark Bright (c)

16 Tyrone Moran 17 James Hallam 18 Matt Shields 19 Rory Bartle 20 Kieran Treadwell 21 George Horne 22 Andrew Turner

SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.