Ben Fatto Modena!

24th February 2016

For the second successive year we were pleased to host our visitors from Italy who came to the Athletic Ground clearly determined to reverse last year’s result. Whilst the score line suggests that this match was a rather unexciting event, in truth it was the exact opposite, a tensely fought affair between two passionate sides.

It was Scottish that got off to the brighter start, spending the first ten minutes with possession in the Modena half.

However, as the game progressed Modena started to get into the match, in large part due to some excellent work from a very effective back-row and an equally impressive driving maul.

The best chance of the half fell to Scottish, when outside centre Cameron kicked through and just failed to ground the ball over the Modena try line after a 50 metre chase. A forward pass in the final minute of the half denied Remi the chance to sprint free and the first period finished without a score.

The critical moment of the match came in the fifteenth minute of the second half when Modena, after a period of sustained pressure, found a gap out wide for their left winger to slide in for a good try. The conversion was missed.

The Scottish boys continued to fight to get back on terms but they just could not create a scoring opportunity. A combination of strong Italian resistance and some lack of accuracy in attack allowed Modena to hang on for the win.

The chance to have a post-match meal of sausages, peas and mash and the traditional presentation of awards and exchange of gifts, rounded off a very successful afternoon of rugby.

Men of the match: 

Ross Ludlow and Cameron Goldby-Barr (London Scottish); 
Mohamed Esteki and Ricardo Salardi (Modena).

Isaac Koomson; Ethan Edwards-Hayde; Seb Fisher; Doug McLaughlin; Charlie Kelly; Harry Golding; Ali McLaughlin; Ka-cie Addison; Brandon Babalola; Bola Docemo; Bruce Moffat; Miles Wakeling; Ross Ludlow;  Gwyn Bowen; Demi Ajeigbe; Iain Rees; Fergus Anderson; Cameron Goldby-Barr; Otto Saxon-Stone; Remi Norville; Jack Bartrip; David Semu; Victor Asomugha; Theo Gabrielides; Liam Cameron. 

SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.