Eight changes for British and Irish Cup Round Two against Ospreys

19th November 2015

London Scottish have made eight changes to the starting line-up to face the Ospreys in Round Two of the British and Irish Cup tomorrow night, as they look to build on their opening round win over Munster. 

Ahead of the visit to Aberavon RFC’s Port Talbot Athletic Ground, the Scots have the opportunity to put themselves in a strong position in Pool Three against an Ospreys side that are featuring in the competition for the first time. 

Jack Cosgrove and Tyrone Moran both make their first starts for the club, and join Matt Shields in the front-row. Will Carrick Smith retains his place in the second-row, and will be alongside Neale Patrick. Captain Mark Bright returns to the back-row with Chevvy Pennycook and Freddie Clarke.

Scrum-half George Horne starts for the first time after an impressive debut against Munster, with Oli Grove maintaining the number 10 shirt. 

Craig Jackson and Robbie Fergusson offer an entirely Scottish centre pairing, whilst Jason Harries and Peter Lydon return to the starting line-up on the left wing and at full-back. Last week’s man of the match Aaron Morris moves to the right wing in what is an exciting looking back line. 

On the bench James Gibbons, David Cherry and Jimmy Litchfield provide front-row back-up. Rory Bartle and Chris Walker will cover the second-row and back-row. Matt Heeks returns to the match day 22, and last week’s opening try-scorer Lee Millar will offer support to the back-line. 

Forwards Coach Tim Payne said: “We can take confidence from the valuable win over Munster last week and move it towards tomorrow night against the Ospreys.”

He added: “It’s always tough to travel to Wales but we have to keep rolling on and keep moving forward.

“To get the bonus-point last week was great for us and we’ve put ourselves in a good position with some big challenges ahead of us in the next month.”

London Scottish team to play Ospreys Premiership Select at the Port Talbot Athletic Ground on Friday, 20th November at 19:30.

15 Peter Lydon 14 Aaron Morris 13 Robbie Fergusson 12 Craig Jackson 11 Jason Harries 10 Oli Grove 9 George Horne 1 Jack Cosgrove 2 Tyrone Moran 3 Matt Shields 4 Will Carrick Smith 5 Neale Patrick 6 Mark Bright 7 Chevvy Pennycook 8 Freddie Clarke

16 James Gibbons 17 David Cherry 18 Jimmy Litchfield 19 Rory Bartle 20 Chris Walker 21 Matt Heeks 22 Lee Millar 


SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.