London Scottish aim to retain momentum

24th October 2013

London Scottish have made five changes for Friday’s clash against Rotherham Titans at the Athletic Ground (7.30pm kick-off) following last weekend’s 55-19 win over Edinburgh Academicals in the British and Irish Cup.

Back rowers Neil Best and Chevvy Pennycook, second rower David Lyons, hooker Tedd Stagg and flying winger Miles Mantella return to the starting line-up as the Greene King IPA Championship resumes.

Mantella, who made his move to Scottish permanent in the summer having spent last season on loan from Harlequins, can’t wait to return to action having  been rested for the visit of Accies.

The 22-year-old has scored seven tries so far this season, including a hat-trick against Nottingham in Scottish’s last home league clash.

“I cannot wait for the Titans game and hopefully there will be a big crowd for what is a massive match.

“They have had a really good start to the season but we have five wins out of six following a couple of tight games in the league and cup, something the team would have taken at the start of the campaign.”

He added: “It’s nice to get a few tries and I want to cash in while I can.

“When the winter comes with sleet and snow it will get more difficult.”

Acting Head Coach James Buckland said: “Titans pushed league leaders London Welsh to the wire in their last league game at Clifton Lane and lost in the very last minute at Connacht Eagles in the British and Irish Cup on Saturday.

“It's clear they will provide stern opposition for us.”

– London Scottish members can bring a Friend for a Fiver to the game on Friday. Click here for more details.

– Tickets start from £12 for members and £14 for non-members. As always Under 16s can get in for free. Book online here or pay at the gate.

London Scottish squad to play Rotherham Titans, Friday October 25, the Athletic Ground, 7.30pm kick-off.

15. Jim Thompson; 14. James Love; 13. Oli Grove; 12. Andy Reay; 11. Miles Mantella; 10. Dan Newton; 9. Jamie Stevenson; 1, Mark Irish; 2. Ted Stagg; 3. Eric Fry; 4, David Lyons; 5. Tyler Hotson; 6. Chevvy Pennycook, 7. Neil Best; 8. Mark Bright (captain).

Replacements: 16, Jamie Kilbane; 17. Lewis Thiede; 18, Paul Spivey; 19. Ben Russell; 20. Ben Pattenden; 21, Lee Millar; 22, Mike Doneghan.

Rotherham Titans: 15 Sean Scanlon, 14 Michael Keating, 13 Joel Gill, 12 Juan Pablo Socino, 11 Curtis Wilson, 10 Dallan Murphy, 9 Charlie Mulchrone (captain), 1 Marshall Gadd, 2 Tom Cruse, 3 Colin Quigley, 4 Barney Maddison, 5 Dan Sanderson, 6 Ed Williamson, 7 Ali Birch, 8 Laurence Pearce.

Replacements: 16 Jack Preece, 17 Mike Dias, 18 Mark Tampin, 19 Ben Thomas, 20 Alex Rieder, 21 Dan White, 22 Jamie Broadley.

SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.