Matt Williams returns for Battle of the Exiles at the Madejski

24th February 2017

Matt Williams will make his long-awaited return to action tomorrow afternoon when the Scots face London Irish at the Madejski Stadium.

The flying winger has missed the last 15 months due to a knee injury, but is raring to go after an operation and an extensive rehab programme. 

Head Coach Peter Richards has made nine changes to the starting line up from the side that narrowly missed out against Jersey Reds in their last outing.

The Scots head to Reading on the back of a nine-try thriller against Jersey last weekend, and will be looking to take their four-try second half performance forward in to the match against the unbeaten Irish side.

Jonny Harris, David Cherry and Ewan McQuillin start in the front-row, with captain Rory Bartle and Charlie Hewitt in the second-row. Danny Kenny, Joe Atkinson and Ifereimi Boladau make up a strong back-row.

Ed Hoadley starts at scrum-half alongside Harry Sheppard in the fly-half shirt, with Tom Galbraith and Robbie Fergusson operating in an all-Scottish centre pairing.

Worcester winger Auguy Slowik will be on the left wing, with Matt Williams on the right wing and Peter Lydon at full-back.

Hooker Matt Williams, Grant Shiells and Phil Cringle offer a front-row alternative, with Dom McGeekie and Dan Koroi covering the rest of the pack. Jamie Stevenson will provide scrum-half back-up, and Craig Holland completes the match day squad.

Forwards Coach John Dalziel is looking forward to the challenge against the promotion favourites. 

“It’s a great occasion for our players against a top side but we have to look at our own game and control that. We want to re-create more of the second half from last week and have a more consistent 80 minute performance.”

London Scottish team to play London Irish at the Madejski Stadium on Saturday 25th February at 15:00: 

15 Peter Lydon 14 Matt Williams 13 Robbie Fergusson 12 Tom Galbraith 11 Auguy Slowik 10 Harry Sheppard 9 Ed Hoadley 1 Jonny Harris 2 David Cherry 3 Ewan McQuillin 4 Rory Bartle (c) 5 Charlie Hewitt 6 Danny Kenny 7 Joe Atkinson 8 Ifereimi Boladau

16 Matti Williams 17 Grant Shiells 18 Phil Cringle 19 Dom McGeekie 20 Dan Koroi 21 Jamie Stevenson 22 Craig Holland  


SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.