Scots Duo Recalled For Pirates Clash

12th September 2014

Scots pair Lee Millar and Mike Doneghan return to the London Scottish starting line-up this Sunday when James Buckland’s side travel to Cornish Pirates in Round Two of the Greene King IPA Championship.

Millar and Doneghan are the only changes to the XV which defeated Rotherham Titans at the Athletic Ground last Saturday as the Scots aim to preserve their unbeaten start to the campaign.

New signing Gregor Gillanders comes straight into the 22 man squad and the Dundee-born flanker is joined on the replacements bench by full-back Errie Claassens.

Last November the Exiles slipped to a disappointing 16-8 defeat at Mennaye Field and head coach James Buckland is determined not to come off second best this time around.

He said: “We learned a lot from that game last season and managed to put a few things right and go on a decent unbeaten run.

“It's always a huge challenge going down to Cornwall and after a good win last week the challenge is to back that up.

“The boys need to be on their metal but we have prepared well and are determined to get the win.

“Pirates will pick up a number of scalps this season on home turf and we need to make sure we're not one.

“You would rather be playing them in early September as opposed to mid-winter and we are looking forward to Sunday.” 

He continued: “Dan Newton picked up a groin injury and Oli Grove was ill this week, so it was an easy decision to bring Lee and Mike in.

“The forward pack deserves another chance after impressing against Titans but they know there is quality on the bench pushing them hard.”

Preview: Club captain Adam Kwasnicki looks ahead to Sunday's match with Cornish Pirates. Watch here.

London Scottish squad to face Cornish Pirates at Mennaye Field, Penzance, on Sunday, September 14, 3pm kick-off.

15, Peter Lydon; 14, Matt Williams; 13, Mike Doneghan; 12, PJ Gidlow; 11, Miles Mantella; 10, Lee Millar; 9, Jamie Stevenson; 1. Mark Lilley; 2. Adam Kwasnicki; 3. Ben Prescott; 4. James Phillips; 5, Adam Preocanin; 6, Neil Best; 7, Chevvy Pennycook; 8, Mark Bright (c).

Replacements: 16, James Hallam; 17, David Cherry; 18, Max Maidment; 19, Tai Tuisamoa; 20, Gregor Gillanders; 21, Sam Stuart; 22, Errie Claassens.

Unavailable due to injury: Josh Thomas Brown, Fred Silcock, Jim Thompson, Dan Newton and Oli Grove.


SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.