Scots look to continue momentum in to Exile Derby with strong side to face London Irish at the Athletic Ground:

28th October 2016

London Scottish have named their side to face London Irish in Sunday’s Exile Derby at the Athletic Ground.

The starting line-up features 10 changes from the side that defeated Ulster ‘A’ in the British and Irish Cup, for what will be the first time that Scottish meet Irish since the 1998/1999 season.

Props Jonny Harris and Ewan McQuillin join David Cherry in the front-row, the hooker made his 50th appearance for the Scots last weekend, making him just the third player in the current squad to have reached the half-century. 

Captain Rory Bartle is partnered by Neale Patrick in the second-row, with a return of the settled back-row which has functioned well so far this season, featuring Danny Kenny, Joe Atkinson and Ally Miller. 

Jamie Stevenson starts at scrum-half alongside Harry Sheppard at fly-half. Patrick Kelly joins Robbie Fergusson in the centre, with a back-three of Jason Harries who makes his 30th appearance for the Scots on the left wing, Craig Holland on the right wing and Peter Lydon at full-back.

Grant Shiells, Dan Koroi and South African Hooker Michael van Vuuren, who is on loan from Bath all offer a front-row alternative, with Dom McGeekie and Alex Humfrey covering the rest of the pack. 

Ed Hoadley provides scrum-half back up, with Alec Coombes completing the match-day squad.

Head Coach Peter Richards says everyone at the club is looking forward to what will be a great occasion at the Athletic Ground: 

“We know we are facing a huge challenge against the best team in our league but it’s hugely exciting. We have a bit of momentum from recent weeks and if we can show the same spirit it will be a great match against an international-filled Irish side on Sky Sports.”

London Scottish team to face London Irish on Sunday 30th October at the Athletic Ground, live on Sky Sports, kick-off 15:00:

15 Peter Lydon 14 Craig Holland 13 Robbie Fergusson 12 Patrick Kelly 11 Jason Harries 10 Harry Sheppard 9 Jamie Stevenson 1 Jonny Harris 2 David Cherry 3 Ewan McQuillin 4 Rory Bartle (c) 5 Neale Patrick 6 Danny Kenny 7 Joe Atkinson 8 Ally Miller


16 Michael van Vuuren 17 Grant Shiells 18 Dan Koroi 19 Dom McGeekie 20 Alex Humfrey 21 Ed Hoadley 22 Alec Coombes 


SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.