Scots name side for Bristol challenge in front of Sky Sports cameras

26th November 2015

London Scottish have named their side to face table-topping Bristol at Ashton Gate on Friday night at 19:45, live on Sky Sports. 

The Scots will be looking to continue their form from the British and Irish Cup which has seen them beat Munster ‘A’ and Ospreys Premiership Select, as they head back into the Greene King IPA Championship. 

James Gibbons, David Cherry and Matt Shields start in the front-row, with Will Carrick Smith and Neale Patrick behind in the second-row.

The back-row is unchanged from the win over the Ospreys, with Mark Bright, Chevvy Pennycook and Freddie Clarke all starting in what was a much-improved pack against the Welsh side. 

George Horne and Oli Grove start as half-back pairing for the second match in a row, with Lee Millar and Robbie Fergusson starting in an all-Scottish centre combination, the same duo that started in the win over Munster ‘A’.

Jason Harries occupies the left wing, whilst Matt Williams returns to the starting line-up for the first time in two weeks on the right wing. Peter Lydon continues at full-back for the Scots for the trip to Ashton Gate. 

On the bench Kurt Schonert, Tyrone Moran and Jimmy Litchfield will offer a front-row alternative. Rory Bartle and Chris Walker will look to add to the second-row and back-row when called upon in Bristol. 

Matt Heeks will look to make an impact at scrum-half, with the versatile Aaron Morris also providing options for the back-line. 

Head Coach Peter Richards said: “Bristol are a very good team but they have been beaten a couple of times at home this year so we will be looking to exploit any weakness that they show.”

He added: “We know our team will be motivated as it’s a great challenge for us. We put up a good fight against them last year and we hope to do the same again on Friday night.”

London Scottish team to play Bristol Rugby at Ashton Gate on Friday, 27th November at 19:45.

15 Peter Lydon 14 Matt Williams 13 Robbie Fergusson 12 Lee Millar 11 Jason Harries 10 Oli Grove 9 George Horne 1 James Gibbons 2 David Cherry 3 Matt Shields 4 Will Carrick Smith 5 Neale Patrick 6 Mark Bright (c) 7 Chevvy Pennycook 8 Freddie Clarke


16 Kurt Schonert 17 Tyrone Moran 18 Jimmy Litchfield 19 Rory Bartle 20 Chris Walker 21 Matt Heeks 22 Aaron Morris

SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.