Scots name side to face Pirates at the Athletic Ground

30th September 2016

London Scottish have named their team to face the in-form Cornish Pirates tomorrow afternoon at the Athletic Ground.

The starting line-up features six changes from the side that got a late try bonus point last weekend in the 39-29 defeat to Yorkshire Carnegie, however spirits are high after securing six points from their last two matches in the Greene King IPA Championship.

Grant Shiells returns to the front-row alongside Dan Koroi and David Cherry, who is in fine form with two tries in his last two appearances. 

The second-row is unchanged, with Rory Bartle captaining the side next to Neale Patrick. The back-row features one change, ex-Pirate Joe Atkinson comes in at openside flanker with Danny Kenny at blindside and Ally Miller continuing at number eight. 

Jamie Stevenson returns to the match-day squad and starts at scrum-half, with Harry Sheppard at fly-half. 

Tom Galbraith partners Robbie Fergusson in an all-Scottish centre partnership. Jason Harries and Alec Coombes occupy the wings, with Peter Lydon returning at full-back to make his 60th appearance for the club. 

Cameron Fenton, Jonny Harris and Ewan McQuillin offer a front-row alternative, with Dom McGeekie covering the rest of the pack. 

Ed Hoadley provides scrum-half back-up, whilst Patrick Kelly and Craig Holland are also amongst the replacements, giving the Scots plenty of attacking options from the bench. 

Former Cornish Pirate Craig Holland who joined the Scots in the summer is looking forward to facing his old side. “They are going well in the league but we’ve seen in the last couple of games that our squad is starting to click and we’re playing some good rugby so we’re all excited for the challenge.”

London Scottish team to play Cornish Pirates at the Athletic Ground on Saturday 1st October at 15:00:

15 Peter Lydon  14 Alec Coombes 13 Robbie Fergusson 12 Tom Galbraith 11 Jason Harries 10 Harry Sheppard 9 Jamie Stevenson 1 Grant Shiells 2 David Cherry 3 Dan Koroi 4  Rory Bartle (c) 5 Neale Patrick 6 Danny Kenny 7 Joe Atkinson 8 Ally Miller


16 Cameron Fenton 17 Jonny Harris 18 Ewan McQuillin 19 Dom McGeekie 20 Ed Hoadley 21 Patrick Kelly 22 Craig Holland

Watch a preview with Dan Koroi below: 


SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.