Scots ready for Athletic Ground Derby as they look for local bragging rights

17th March 2017

London Scottish have named their team to face Richmond in tomorrow’s highly anticipated Athletic Ground derby.

The Scots are boosted by the return of a number of big names to the starting line-up, as they look for a positive result against their local rivals.

David Cherry will make his 60th appearance for the club after returning from injury, as well as having Neale Patrick and Jason Harries back in the team as the Scots aim to regain the Bill and Temple Quaich. 

The Quaich is the trophy awarded to the winning side whenever the two compete. To celebrate the friendship between the two clubs, the award was created in the 1890s by the then Presidents, Bill McLagan and Temple Gurdon.

Jonny Harris, David Cherry and Ewan McQuillin start in the front-row, with Charlie Hewitt and Neale Patrick in the second-row. Captain Rory Bartle moves to blindside flanker, and is alongside Joe Atkinson and Ifereimi Boladau in the back-row. 

Jamie Stevenson and Harry Sheppard combine as half-backs, whilst Tom Galbraith and Robbie Fergusson will operate in an all-Scottish centre partnership. Jason Harries, Alec Coombes and Peter Lydon start in the back-three. 

Dan Koroi, Grant Shiells and Phil Cringle offer a front-row alternative, with Dom McGeekie and Matt Marley covering the rest of the pack. Craig Holland and Matt Williams complete the match day squad.

Second-row Dom McGeekie is anticipating another huge test against the local rivals, but says the Scots are ready for an exciting occasion.

“We were disappointed in our performance against Richmond earlier in the season so we’ve got some wrongs to right, but we are full of belief that our results will improve.”

London Scottish members can get discounted tickets for tomorrow’s match, click here for all ticketing information.

London Scottish team to play Richmond in tomorrow’s Athletic Ground Derby at 14:30 in the Greene King IPA Championship:

15 Peter Lydon 14 Alec Coombes 13 Robbie Fergusson 12 Tom Galbraith 11 Jason Harries 10 Harry Sheppard 9 Jamie Stevenson 1 Jonny Harris 2 David Cherry 3 Ewan McQuillin 4 Charlie Hewitt 5 Neale Patrick 6 Rory Bartle (c) 7 Joe Atkinson 8 Ifereimi Boladau 

16 Dan Koroi 17 Grant Shiells 18 Phil Cringle 19 Dom McGeekie 20 Matt Marley 21 Craig Holland 22 Matt Williams

SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.