Scots ready for top four clash against Titans.

24th April 2015

Exiles coach Peter Richards has named a strong side for Saturday’s game between London Scottish, in third, and fourth placed Rotherham Titans as the regular Championship season draws to a close.

Skipper Mark Bright, Matt Williams, Peter Lydon, James Hallam and James Phillips all return to the line-up having been shortlisted this week for the Caledonia Best Taste of Scotland Supporters' Player of the Year award.

Scrum-half Jamie Stevenson also earns a recall along with prop Ben Prescott and lock Josh Thomas Brown, pictured, who starts against his former club.


Harlequins dual-registered forward James Chisholm and Chris Walker start alongside Bright in a powerful looking back-row whilst Kieran Moffat moves to the wing with Aussie Matt Hawke returning at 13 to partner PJ Gidlow.

Scottish cannot be caught in third place but Richards is keen to gain some momentum ahead of the Club’s historic maiden appearance in the end of season play-offs next weekend.

He said: “There is a lot of excitement building towards the play-offs but, for now, I’m just interested in going to Rotherham and winning the game.

“They have picked up plenty of wins recently, scoring a lot of points which has been a real trait of Rotherham this season, who are a free scoring side.

“Lee Blackett has done a super job and he has been well rewarded with a top job at Wasps.

“He will do well there next year.”

He continued: “I like the look of our backline this week. There’s a familiar feel to the side with Dan Newton allowing Peter Lydon to return to full-back.

“PJ Gidlow and Dan I felt did well last week. PJ gives us a real physical edge.

“In the pack James Chisholm has come off the bench the past three games and made a real impact.

“Hopefully he can have the same impact from the start. It looks like a really dynamic back-row.”

London Scottish squad to play Rotherham Titans at Abbeydale Sports Club, Abbeydale Road South, Dore, S17 3LJ on Saturday, April 25, 3pm kick-off.

15, Peter Lydon, 14, Matt Williams, 13, Matt Hawke, 12, PJ Gidlow, 11, Kieran Moffat, 10, Dan Newton, 9, Jamie Stevenson, 1, James Hallam, 2, Adam Kwasnicki, 3, Ben Prescott, 4, James Phillips, 5, Josh Thomas Brown, 6, James Chisholm, 7, Chris Walker, 8, Mark Bright (c).

Replacements:  16, Mark Lilley, 17, D’arcy Rae, 18, Adam Preocanin, 19, Neil Best, 20, Chevvy Pennycook, 21, Matt Heeks, 22, Lee Millar.

Unavailable due to injury: Todd Gleave, Max Maidment, David Cherry and Stewart Maguire.


SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.