Team News: Mosses to captain the Scots against Cornish Pirates as McQuillin returns on the bench

16th November 2017

Last week’s trip over the channel was a frustrating one for Director of Rugby Dave Morris, not only from a playing point of view, as the Scots saw another game slip by against Jersey Reds, but Morris also had to contend with an ever-increasing injury list.

Jonny Harris, Matt Eliet, Rob Stevenson, Jonathan Mills and Basil Strang all returned from the Jersey trip injured and unavailable for selection this week. Adding to James Tyas, Dominic McGeekie and Nick Scott who were also all unavailable for this week’s game against Cornish Pirates.

Dino Waldren and Kyle Baillie were not available for selection as they are on International Duty with USA and Canada.

Morris has however had the luxury to be able to select a strong back line, sticking with the backs that started against Jersey Reds. Charlie Ingall retains his spot at full back with former Cornish Pirate Craig Holland starting on the left wing and Matt Williams starting on the right.

Ross Neal has recovered from a dead leg that forced him off against Jersey to partner, stand in captain, Ben Mosses in the centres. This will be the first time Mosses has lead the Scots.

Jake Sharp and Alex Walker continue at fly half and scrum half respectively.

Italy ‘A’ International Derrick Appiah replaces Jonny Harris who is unfit with a neck injury. Appiah joins Isaac Miller and Phil Cringle in the front row.

Ed Milne shifts to the second row and partners Tjiuee Uanivi. Club Captain Chris Walker will start at openside and will lead the pack. Gregor Gillanders is at blinside flanker and Joe Atkinson starts at the base of the scrum.

Ewan McQuillin returns on the bench for the Scots after recovering from an MCL tear at the beginning of the season. Max Berry will make his Greene King IPA Championship debut if he comes off the bench.

London Scottish: 15. Charlie Ingall 14. Matt Williams 13. Ross Neal 12. Ben Mosses (c) 11. Craig Holland 10. Jake Sharp 9. Alex Walker; 1. Derrick Appiah 2. Isaac Miller 3. Phil Cringle 4. Ed Milne 5. Tjiuee Uanivi 6. Gregor Gillanders 7. Chris Walker 8. Joe Atkinson.

Replacements: 16. Dan George,17. Ben Onyeama Christie 18. Ewan McQuillin 19. Matt Marley 20. Max Berry 21. Ed Hoadley 22. Fraser Lyle.

Tickets are still available – BUY THEM HERE  or call 02033979551



SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.