TEAM NEWS: New look backline for 2019 for the Scots

10th January 2019

London Scottish enter 2019 and their important game against Hartpury College with a new look and exciting backline.

Ahead of their Friday night game at the RAG with the 12th place side from Gloucestershire , the exiles have named two debutants.

Tom Griffiths and Tom Fowlie will both start and will be looking to make an immediate impact with the Scots.

Head Coach Nic Rouse has made a total of nine changes to the matchday squad.

The front row remains unchanged with Jordan Brodley, Billy Harding and Richard Palframan all starting with Jared Saunders returning from a wrist injury on the bench and Jonny Harris & Phil Cringle also among the replacements.

Tjiuee Uanivi misses out this week through illness as Byron Hodge partners Theo Vukasinovic. The back row is again unchanged.

Jacob Perry starts against the College where he played for seven years. He links up with Grayson Hart in the half backs.

Reuben Bird-Tulloch shifts to the replacements as he makes way for Rory Jennings who moves to inside centre from fly half. He is joined by debutant dual-registered Tom Griffiths.

It is a powerful combination on the wings with another new arrival Tom Fowlie starting on the left wing and top try scorer Rob Stevenson starting on the right.

Miles Mantella makes his first start of the season at full back with Elliot Obatoyinbo missing out and Joe Luca Smith unavailable for a couple of months after shoulder surgery.

Matt Eliet returns from a rib injury for a spot on the bench and Matt Davidson could make his fourth appearance for the club after recovering from a wrist injury suffered in November.

London Scottish: 1. Jordan Brodley (15)  2. Billy Harding (12) 3. Richard Palframan (13) 4. Theo Vukasinovic  (7) 5. Byron Hodge (15) 6. James Tyas (25) 7. Lewis Wynne (11) 8. Mark Bright (c) (139) 9. Grayson Hart (14) 10. Jacob Perry (13) 11. Tom Fowlie (0) 12. Rory Jennings (12) 13. Tom Griffiths (0) 14. Rob Stevenson (16) 15. Miles Mantella (84)

Replacements:16. Jared Saunders (9) 17. Jonny Harris (44) 18. Phil Cringle (52)  19. Matt Eliet (21) 20. Josh Barton (15) 21. Reuben Bird-Tulloch (2) 22. Matt Davidson (3)

*() denotes London Scottish appearances


SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.