Miller to Captain the Scots against Yorkshire Carnegie

12th January 2018

Dave Morris has named Hooker Isaac Miller as his Captain for this weekend’s British and Irish Cup game against Yorkshire Carnegie at The Athletic Ground.

The chances of qualification for the Scots into the next round of the B&I Cup are incredibly slim but Morris and his side still want a win from their first game of 2018.

Morris has taken the opportunity to rotate some of his players and utilise his wider squad but the core of the side remains the same from the Nottingham win in the league just before the New Year.

Loughborough University graduate Miller will captain the side from Hooker and is partnered by Ben Onyeama-Christie and Ewan McQuillin in the front row. Miller has made twelves appearances so far this season for the Scots and has been one of the standout performers.

James Tyas makes the shift from the back row to the second row and partners Tjiuee Uanivi. Gregor Gillanders starts on the blindside with Matt Marely starting at seven. Joe Atkinson returns to number eight after playing on the blindside against Nottingham.

Ed Hoadley is handed a start at scrum half and partners Jake Sharp, the fourth time the two will pair up together this season.

Fraser Lyle continues at inside centre after being called in as a late replacement against Nottingham when Ben Mosses was pulled out due to illness. He is joined in the centres by Charlie Ingall who will make his first appearance for Scottish at 13.

Joe Luca Smith is named on the left wing and Connor Hayhow is named on the right wing. Craig Holland will marshal proceedings from Full Back.

Pete Austin, Derrick Appiah and American International Dino Waldren are the front row replacements on the bench. Dominic McGeekie and Max Berry will cover the second and back rows. Josh Barton will cover scrum half and Nick Scott makes his return from a leg injury he suffered against Hartpury in October.

London Scottish: 1. Ben Onyeama-Christie 2. Isaac Miller © 3. Ewan McQuillin 4. Tjiuee Uanivi 5. James Tyas 6. Gregor Gillanders 7. Matt Marley 8. Joe Atkinson; 9. Ed Hoadley 10. Jake Sharp 11. Joe Luca Smith 12. Fraser Lyle 13. Charlie Ingall 14. Connor Hayhow 15. Craig Holland

Replacements: 16. Pete Austin 17. Derrick Appiah 18. Dino Waldren 19. Dominic McGeekie 20. Max Berry 21. Josh Barton 22. Nick Scott

Buy Your tickets for the B&I Cup Clash HERE

SubscrIbe for the latest news and offers direct to your inbox.